Board of Trustees Responsibilities

Members of the Board of School Trustees are elected for four years. Five members are elected by voting district, and two are at-large. The board is responsible for the approval of purchases, contracts, curriculum adoptions, budgets and appropriations; and makes policy in open public session.

When required, the board convenes in a closed session. By authority of Indiana law, the board may convene in executive or closed session for discussion of collective bargaining; purchase or lease of real property; possible litigation; appointment, employment or dismissal of employees; student discipline cases; and matters related to students in special education programs.

Formal action on those matters discussed in executive session must be taken in an open public session.