Early graduation ceremony planned for seniors enlisted in military

Early graduation ceremony planned for seniors enlisted in military
Posted on 06/01/2020
This is the image for the news article titled Early graduation ceremony planned for seniors enlisted in military

A special graduation ceremony for some 30 South Bend high school graduates who enlisted in the military will be held on Sunday, June 14 at 9:30 a.m., at the Vietnam War Memorial at Howard Park in South Bend. Graduation ceremonies for the entire classes of 2020 for South Bend high schools will be held July 24 and 25 at Four Winds Field in South Bend. (See schedule here).

Graduating seniors entering the military from Clay, Riley, Adams, and Washington high schools in South Bend will be honored during the June ceremony if they are unable to attend July's commencement to begin their training.

Social distancing and other health protocols will be in effect for the outdoor ceremony for family and friends attending; those considered high risk are encouraged to watch the livestream from home. The following is a list of South Bend high school military students and their military branch*:

  • Clay High School: Kathryn Whitfield, Army; Anthony Davis, Marine Corp; Dejah Edgar, Air Force; Miguel Penaloza, Marine Corp; Scott Gervais, Jr., Navy; Anthony Williams, Army National Guard.

  • Riley High School: Dominic Perez, Indiana National Guard; Sean Kirkpatrick, Indiana National Guard; Quincy Smith, Army; Conor Kingston, United States Air Force; Brayden Slisz-Krewson, United States Army; Pierre Chipala, United States Navy; Timothy Tucker, United States Army; Blake Crothers, United States Air Force.

  • Adams High School: Jan Fabay, Air Force; Steve Harr, Marine Corp; Amanda Joseph, Air Force; Osman Morales-Chavez, Army National Guard; Nigel Pajakowski, Army; Amanda Peterson-Grainger, Army National Guard; Kimberly Plata, United States Army; Vamoni Stubbs, Army National Guard; Melvin Torres, Army National Guard; Toron Wilson, Army National Guard.

  • Washington High School: Gabriella Cavazos, Army National Guard; Abelardo Herrera Santiago, Army National Guard; Kyla Middlebrooks, Army National Guard; Deona Murphy, Army Reserve; LaKayla Powell, United States Army; Nathaniel Stump, United States Army.

*This list may be incomplete and is subject to change.

Contact: George Jones, associate director of communications, [email protected].